Application Life Cycle


Application Life Cycle
the life cycle consisting of all phases during which a single application is produced, used, and retired


Life Cycle in the Inheritance Hierarchy

As illustrated in the preceding figure, Life Cycle is part of the following inheritance hierarchy:


The typical responsibilities of an application life cycle are to:


Life Cycle Phases

As illustrated in the preceding figure, the Application Life Cycle typically consists of the following roughly sequential phases:

  1. Initiation Phase
  2. Construction Phase
  3. Initial Production Phase
  4. Full-Scale Production Phase
  5. Delivery Phase
  6. Usage Phase
  7. Retirement Phase