Life Cycle


Life Cycle
the cycle consisting of all phases during which a single system, application, or major component is produced, used, and retired


Life Cycle in the Inheritance Hierarchy

As illustrated in the preceding figure, Life Cycle is part of the following inheritance hierarchy:


The typical responsibilities of a life cycle are to:


Life Cycle Phases

As illustrated in the preceding figure, the Life Cycle typically consists of the following roughly sequential phases:

  1. Initiation Phase
  2. Construction Phase
  3. Initial Production Phase
  4. Full-Scale Production Phase
  5. Delivery Phase
  6. Usage Phase
  7. Retirement Phase